Wanderlodge Gurus - The Member Funded Wanderlodge Forum
First newbee mistake w/ generator on SpongeBob - Printable Version

+- Wanderlodge Gurus - The Member Funded Wanderlodge Forum (http://www.wanderlodgegurus.com)
+-- Forum: Discussions (/forumdisplay.php?fid=21)
+--- Forum: Generator (/forumdisplay.php?fid=29)
+--- Thread: First newbee mistake w/ generator on SpongeBob (/showthread.php?tid=10272)

Pages: 1 2

First newbee mistake w/ generator on SpongeBob - davidbrady - 09-04-2014 21:01

I had an unusual failure occur recently. I'm new to air bag suspended generators. I've never played around with the two pressure regulators feeding air to the fore and aft air springs, but someone must've. I arrived at my bus yesterday to find a puddle of oil on the floor under the generator. Seems I've been driving with very little air pressure in the front air bags. In addition, the rubber bump stop mounted to the floor of the enclosure and designed to support the engine sump pan had sheered off. This allowed the oil drain petcock to rest firmly against the enclosure tray. I guess over the miles the force and vibrations were too much for the welded on sump pan threaded bung. The weld attaching the threaded bung to the sump cracked and began leaking! The sump pan has to come off to repair the weld. Odd failure! I now know to pay particular attention to the pressure in those air bags and to make sure the resting rubber bump stops are in place and secured properly! This is my first mess-up with this bus! Sad

[attachment=1436][attachment=1437]

RE: First newbee mistake w/ generator on SpongeBob - ernie ekberg - 09-05-2014 07:59

David, are there 4 bags for the generator?
Is there a gauge that shows the pressure?

RE: First newbee mistake w/ generator on SpongeBob - dentmac - 09-05-2014 09:17

Hi,
Looks clean , even with the spill!
Interesting problem. A heads up for owners with air supported gennies or compressors (my 120 V aux...has manual airbags)