Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
LXI thru the years
05-23-2013, 23:34 (This post was last modified: 05-24-2013 00:13 by Johnny M Slone.)
RE: LXI thru the years
A
(05-22-2013 18:59)al perna Wrote:  Pete/David

Thank you both for the detailed info on the LXI. There is a great deal of info to go thru for sure . My first thought is around the front axle . Why did BB seem to struggle with weight ?? you would think this to be a manageable engineering problem for them to deal with ? can you imagine the cost of that Courtesy Fulfillment !! WOW!

David . what is "FIITE ELEMENT ANALYSIS " ? would this have been the prelude to the 450 LXI suspension that is rated above the Prevost in Ride ?
would you say thru 1998-2003 BB made improvements in all areas ?

would be nice to pint out the changes and determine which are those we , owners of early models could do to turn a 1998 into a 2003 ??

Sorry for the empty post but I am new to this so forgive my mistake. I was trying to answer Al in his question as to some of the changes made to the LXI during its run. My coach was the prototype LXI and it was built in 1997 but titled as a 1998. It was the first coach with the new body change and with slides. I have looked at several coaches from the 98 model to the 03 models and the only inside change I can see is the overhead cabinets in the front. The 98 model cabinets are finished as the rest of the coach. In the 99 thru 03 models the overhead cabinets are black plexiglass. The 99 thru 03 coaches are nearly all the same inside. My coach is 41 feet but BB built is equiped as a 43 footer it has 2 inverters, 6 batteries as the 43 is equiped. I have copies of the 98 sales brochure featuring my coach but BB lists it in the add as a 43 footer. BB used the prototype as a show coach during the year of 98 and sold it to the first owner in late 98. After it was sold BB took the coach back to the factory and completely redid the inside with new carpet, furniture, etc. While there they chang